Skip to main content

California Chaplains

Chaplain Specialist for California Catholic Conference

Deacon Clyde DavisDeacon Clyde Davis
deaconclyde@aol.com
 

 

 

Atascadero State Hospital

VACANT

Avenal State Prison

Mr. Rodney Ornellas
rodney.ornellas@cdcr.ca.gov
(559) 386-0587 x6384
What I like best about being a chaplain: "To witness the reality of the Father's mercy and his inexhaustible desire for them [prisoners] to be reconciled in his love."
 

California City State Prison

Mr. George Peate
(760) 246-7600 x7451
george.peate@cdcr.ca.gov
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Helping those behind locked doors to listen for the knock and call of Christ's compassion and truth and inviting them to open the doors of their hearts."

California Correctional Center (CCC)

VACANT

California Correctional Institute (CCI)

Fr. Manny Sundaram
manuel.sundaram@cdcr.ca.gov
(661) 822-4402 x4387

 

 

California Institution for Men (CIM)

Sr. Elizabeth O'Keefe
sreok@yahoo.com
(909) 597-1821 x5652

Rev. Eugene Eburuche
eugene.eburuche@cdcr.ca.gov
(909) 597-1821 x4152
What I like best about being a chaplain: "To bring hope and God's love and mercy to our incarcerated brothers and sisters…To bring to them the message of God's promise of a second chance." 
 

 

California Institution for Women (CIW)

Dr. Maryloyola Yettke
maryloyola.yettke@cdcr.ca.gov
(909) 597-1771 x6366
What I like best about being a chaplain: "I LOVE MY JOB! This is where the Gospel message hits the road."

California Medical Facility (CMF)

Fr. Pius Amah
pius.amah@cdcr.ca.gov
(707) 448-6841 x2378
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Being able to give the men hope and our instrument of God's Mercy."
 

California Men's Colony (CMC)

Fr. John Farao, OFM Conv.
john.farao@cdcr.ca.gov
(805) 547-7177 x4506
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Helping men grow and change their lives."
 

California Rehabilitation Center (CRC)

Mr. Teddy Harder
teddy.harder@cdcr.ca.gov
(951) 737-2683 x4315 or 4305

California State Hospital (CSH)

Deacon Porfirio Cisneros
porfirio.cisneros@cdcr.ca.gov
(209) 467-4110

 

 

California State Prison, LA County (CSP)

Deacon Daniel Bernal
daniel.bernal@cdcr.ca.gov
(661) 729-2000 x6129

 

 

California State Prison, New Folsom (CSP)

Deacon Bill Goeke
william.goeke@cdcr.ca.gov
(916) 985-8610 x6425
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Witnessing and taking part in healing and spiritual growth processes for the incarcerated as well as those interacting with these in the rehabilitative venues."

California State Prison, Solano (CSP)

Fr. Dany Touma
dany.touma@cdcr.ca.gov
(707) 451-0182 x6435

 

 

Calipatria State Prison

Deacon Refugio Gonzalez
refugio.gonzalez@cdcr.ca.gov
(760) 348-7000 x6139

 

 

Centinela State Prison, Imperial

Deacon Marcos Lopez
marcos.lopez@cdcr.ca.gov
(760) 337-7900 x6372
What I like best about being a chaplain: "The struggle. The division. The hatred, envy. I actually don’t like the above, but I like combating these things with my prayer, service, and teaching."

Central California Women's Facility (CCWF)

Rosa Guembe
rosa.guembe@cdcr.ca.gov
(559) 665-5531 x7232

 

 

Chuckawalla Valley State Prison

VACANT

Coalinga State Hospital

Br. Raul Amador
raul.amador@dsh.ca.gov
(559) 934-3902
 

 

Corcoran State Prison (CSP)

Fr. Charles Ugwu
(831) 678-3951

Correctional Training Facility (CTF)

Fr. Ignacio Martinez
ignacio.martinez@cdcr.ca.gov
(831) 678-3951 ext 5016

Deuel Vocational Institution and Prison (DVI)

Deacon Edwin Santiago
edwin.santiago@cdcr.ca.gov
(209) 835-4141 x5076
What I like best about being a chaplain: "The inmates bring joy into my heart as I see them mature in their faith, and it is awesome to see and participate in their conversion."
 

 

Fairview Developmental Center

Mr. Gerry Fay
Gerard.Fay@fdc.dds.ca.gov
(714) 957-5242
What I like best about being a chaplain: "I treasure the opportunity to walk with persons who have developmental disabilities--listening to their stories, concerns, and being with them to celebrate their many successes." 
 

Folsom State Prison (Old)

Fr. Humberto Gomez
Humberto.Gomez@cdcr.ca.gov
(916) 985-2561 ext 4206
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Serving the spiritual needs of inmates, offering them opportunities to grow in their faith and in their relationship with Christ."
 

 

High Desert State Prison

Mr. Joseph McLachlan
joseph.mclachlan@cdcr.ca.gov
(530) 251-5100 x6422

 

 

Ironwood State Prison

Fr. Alex Nnaukwu
alex.nnaukwu@cdcr.ca.gov
(760) 921-3000 x6377
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Sharing the love of God with the less privileged/incarcerated."

 

Kern Valley State Prison

Fr. Francisco Diaz
francisco.diaz@cdcr.ca.gov
(661) 721-6300 x6656
What I like best about being a chaplain: "To serve, to learn, to help, to walk with, to practice the faith."

 

Metropolitan State Hospital

Fr. Brian Delaney
brian.delaney@dsh.ca.gov
(562) 651-3142

Mule Creek State Prison

Fr. Diogo Baptista
diogo.baptista@cdcr.ca.gov
(209) 274-4911 x6815
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Thankful to bring the Love of God to those closest to the Hearts of Jesus and Mary."

 

N.A. Chaderjian Youth Correctional Facility

Deacon Fidel Carrillo
fidel.carrillo@cdcr.ca.gov
(209) 944-6451

Napa State Hospital

Noelani Sheckler-Smith
noelanishecklersmith@gmail.com
(707) 938-6721
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Witnessing the active love of God for persons who are profoundly spiritual, non-judgmentally accepting of all, and capable of giving back spiritually much more than all that is done for them."

 

North Kern State Prison

Fr. Flordito Redulla
flordito.redulla@cdcr.ca.gov
(661) 721-2345 x6861
What I like best about being a chaplain: "To give emotional, moral, and spiritual support to all our inmates especially in the Sacraments of Reconciliation and the Holy Eucharist."
 

 

Patton State Hospital

Fr. Ignatio Rodrigues
ignatius.rodrigues@psh.dsh.ca.gov
(909) 425-7429

Mr. Steve Gomez
steven.gomez@psh.dsh.ca.gov
(909) 425-7429
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Listening to others, sharing in their pain, their hopes, and their healing. I enjoy good group discussion, sharing and dynamics. I like leading and facilitating liturgies and services."
 

Pelican Bay State Prison

Mr. Sam Smolinisky
samuel.smolinisky@cdcr.ca.gov
(707) 465-1000 x7910
What I like best about being a chaplain: "The Spiritual reward I get from men incarcerated that have nothing other than the ability to have gratitude is larger than other rewards."

 

Pleasant Valley State Prison

Mr. Edwin Peraza
Edwin.Peraza@cdcr.ca.gov
(559) 935-4900 x6777
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Providing Catholic Services. Bringing volunteers. Working with different faiths. Teaching. Liturgical Music. Counseling. Being present to witness the Love of God."

 

Porterville Development Center

Deacon Michael Avila
mike.avila@pdc.dds.ca.gov
(559) 782-2401 x2401
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Being able to bring happiness through the ministry of the Catholic Faith and letting clients know that someone geniunely cares and loves them."
 

 

RJ Donovan Correctional Facility & Prison

Deacon Miguel Enriquez
miguel.enriquez2@cdcr.ca.gov
(661) 661-6500 x6643
What I like best about being a chaplain: "The blessing to make Jesus present by reflecting his love and Mercy to everyone that I cross and engage inside the institution."
 

 

Salinas Valley State Prison

Fr. Miguel Corona
Miguel.Corona@cdcr.ca.gov
(831) 678-5500  ext 6776
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Serving Inmates, evangelizing them, teaching them the sacraments, celebrating masses, counseling, hearing confessions."

 

San Quentin State Prison

Fr. George Williams, SJ
george.williams@cdcr.ca.gov
(415) 454-1460 x5314

 

 

SATF & State Prison Corcoran

VACANT

Mr. Jose Ojeda
jose.ojeda@cdcr.ca.gov
(559) 992-7100 x6577
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Being a companion and witness to the transformation of incarcerated men."

 

Sierra Conservation Center & Prison

Deacon Karl Welsbacher
karl.welsbacher@cdcr.ca.gov
(209) 984-5291 x5281
What I like best about being a chaplain: "I like to see the change in the men. Many come to prison feeling rejected and they are overjoyed when they discover what Christ can do for them."

 

Sonoma Developmental Center

Noelani Sheckler-Smith
noelanishecklersmith@gmail.com
(707) 938-6721
What I like best about being a chaplain: "Witnessing the active love of God for persons who are profoundly spiritual, non-judgmentally accepting of all, and capable of giving back spiritually much more than all that is done for them."

 

Valley State Prison

Mr. Danilo Grajales
danilo.grajales@cdcr.ca.gov
(559) 665-6100 x6076

Ventura Youth Correctional Facility

VACANT

Veterans Home Barstow

VACANT

Veterans Home Chula Vista

Jean Hicks
(619) 482-6010 x3190

Veterans Home Yountville

VACANT

Wasco State Prison

Mr. Joe Lubatti
Joseph.Lubatti@cdcr.ca.gov
(661) 758-8400 x5237